Coun. Jenna Stoner replaces Coun. Doug Race on SLRD board | Squamish Chief

Coun. Jenna Stoner replaces Coun. Doug Race on SLRD board

A change of Squamish representatives at regional district

Squamish Coun. Jenna Stoner is replacing Coun. Doug Race on the Squamish-Lillooet Regional District (SLRD) board of directors.

Stoner, who previously served as alternate director, joins Mayor Karen Elliott, who is also on the board.

article continues below

Stoner took the position as of Jan. 1.

“Doug Race has served the SLRD for many years, first as alternate director, and then as director, and we are grateful for his thoughtful and articulate contributions to the board,” said newly-minted SLRD board chair, Jen Ford in a news release. “His knowledge, experience and commitment are commendable, and we have been well-served with Doug on the SLRD Board for all these years."

Ford said the board is excited to welcome Stoner.

“Having previously served as alternate director, Jenna’s familiarity with the SLRD will serve the region well, as she takes on the role of director. The entire board welcomes Jenna to the director’s spot, and we all look forward to working more closely with her.”

The SLRD consists of a 10-member board of directors with four electoral area directors and six municipal directors; one director from the District of Lillooet, one director from the Village of Pemberton, two directors from the Resort Municipality of Whistler and two directors from the District of Squamish.

Municipal directors are appointed to the SLRD board by their councils, and the SLRD’s electoral area directors are elected to the SLRD board during elections that are held every four years.

The last general local election was Oct. 20, 2018.

The positions of chair and vice-chair are elected annually by the SLRD board.

The current SLRD board of directors includes:

●      Sal DeMare Electoral Area A

●      Vivian Birch-Jones, Electoral Area B (vice-chair)

●      Russell Mack, Electoral Area C

●      Tony Rainbow, Electoral Area D

●      Barb Wiebe, District of Lillooet

●      Mike Richman, Village of Pemberton

●      Jack Crompton, Resort Municipality of Whistler

●      Jen Ford, Resort Municipality of Whistler (chair)

●      Karen Elliott, District of Squamish

●      Jenna Stoner, District of Squamish


SLRD board meetings are generally held on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 10:30 a.m. in the SLRD boardroom at 1350 Aster Street in Pemberton, but due to the pandemic, board and committee meetings are being held via Zoom.

Meetings are livestreamed on the SLRD website, with the recording posted following each meeting. All meeting agendas and links to livestreams are available on the SLRD website:

Read Related Topics

@ Copyright Squamish Chief