Skip to content

BIV unveils B.C. business leaders receiving 2023 Forty Under 40 Awards

This year’s cohort of will be recognized at a gala event in February 2024

Forty new B.C. business leaders will join the prestigious Forty Under 40 club as recipients of BIV’s 2023 Forty Under 40 Awards – an annual awards program that recognizes excellence in business and community leadership.

Members of this year’s cohort boast remarkable early-career achievements and a clear dedication to service, engagement and volunteerism.

“We had a large and impressive group of nominees for this year's awards program. Our judging panel found the achievements, dedication and community work of these 40 individuals to be truly exceptional. We are fortunate to have these leaders in our communities,” said Hayley Woodin Hastings, editor-in-chief of BIV.

This year’s award winners will be featured in BIV’s annual Forty Under 40 Magazine in mid-December, and at a gala event Feb. 7, 2024.

The award recipients, listed alphabetically by last name, are:

  • Salman Ahmed, chief investment officer, Steadyhand Investment Management Ltd.
  • Persis Ahrestani, vice-president and CFO, Habitat for Humanity Greater Vancouver
  • Hussein Alibhai, director of inside sales for North America, STEMCELL Technologies
  • Priscilla Anderson, COO, Ollie Quinn
  • Arielle Boisvert, partner and executive vice-president of production, Brightlight Pictures
  • Jordan Carlson, investment group senior vice-president, Anthem Properties Group Ltd.
  • Byron Chard, president and CEO, Chard Development Ltd.
  • Catherine Chew, CFO, Global Relay
  • Jay Crone, managing director, Deloitte
  • Gavin Dew, chief strategy officer, Abbotsford Tech District
  • James Docherty, executive director, Vancouver Fire Fighter Charities; captain, Vancouver Fire Rescue Services
  • Daniel Dueck, founder and CEO, Stattonrock Design and Build
  • Conner Galway, president, Junction Creative Solutions Ltd.
  • Dan Gamble, founder and CEO, DG Public Relations Inc. (DGPR)
  • Ashton Herriott, principal, CAI Capital Partners
  • Bardia Ilbeiggi, chef and owner, Delara Restaurant Inc.
  • Brad Jones, senior vice-president of development, Wesgroup Properties
  • Marc Josephson, senior vice-president of development, Grosvenor
  • Joshua Krenus, founder and CEO, Alteri Insurance,, Krenus Auto and Whipy
  • Connor Langford, Canada tunnels team lead and account lead, Mott MacDonald
  • Morgan McDonald, partner, DLA Piper (Canada) LLP
  • Erica McGuinness, partner, Sequeira Partners
  • Andrea Mendoza, founder and CEO, The ScoliClinic
  • Alexandra Mitretodis, partner, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
  • Matthew Murray, senior vice-president and corporate controller, TELUS
  • Alicia Peters, director of corporate initiatives, First West Credit Union
  • Sasha Ramnarine, lawyer, Remedios and Company
  • Mahin Rashid, director of member (customer) readiness, learning and process optimization, Vancity Credit Union
  • Zach Romano, partner, Fasken Martineau DuMoulin LLP
  • Elly Seddon, co-founder and CEO, Bulletproof Cosmetics; partner, Borden Ladner Gervais LLP
  • Courtney Steeksma, regional lead of the Scotiabank Women Initiative, Scotiabank
  • Andrea Tang, CEO, Variety the Children's Charity of BC
  • Dylan Van Rooyen, vice-president, Surrey Fire Fighters Association and Charitable Society
  • Caitlyn Vanderhaeghe, co-founder, president and CEO, KidStar Nutrients
  • David Wang, senior manager of corporate strategy, TELUS
  • Tamara White, executive director, Small Housing BC
  • Sarah Wilkinson, CEO, Dr. Bill
  • Duncan Wlodarczak, chief of staff, Onni Group of Companies
  • Yvette Wu, Co-founder and CEO, Yield Exchange Inc.
  • Jennifer Zhang, founder, owner and CEO, Concrete Cashmere

BIV thanks this year’s Forty Under 40 Awards judging panel, which is comprised of past award winners and members of BIV’s leadership team: Anna Baird, Canadian Leadership Team, Google Cloud (2022 winner); Jonathan Conlin, partner at Fasken (2020 winner); Chris May, general manager, BC Place (2022 winner); Sharon Singh, partner at Bennett Jones (2019 winner); Kirk LaPointe, BIV publisher and executive editor, and vice-president, editorial, Glacier Media; and Hayley Woodin Hastings, BIV editor-in-chief.

The 2023 Forty Under 40 Awards are presented by Fasken, and supported by gold sponsors BCIT School of Business + Media, B2Gold and Gryphon.

Additional information on BIV’s upcoming Forty Under 40 Awards event can be found at

push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks