Skip to content

Squamish Chamber of Commerce elects new directors

Five new faces, including two who previously ran in municipal election
Left, Sacha Fabry. Right, Rajan Hans. Both ran for municipal council this past election, but wound up at the Squamish Chamber of Commerce.

They’re baaaaack!

Two people who ran for municipal council are among the five new faces — and one returning representative — who have been elected to join the Squamish Chamber of Commerce’s board of directors.

Starting January 2019, the following people will be serving a two-year term on the board.

— Christine Campbell, C.Campbell Agency (incumbent)

— Mike Coyne, LandSea

— Sacha Fabry, Good Governance Group

— Rajan Hans, Diamond Head Security Group

— Annabel Majendie, Quest University Canada

— Jack Montpellier, Race and Company


Those who followed the Squamish municipal elections may recognize Fabry and Hans.

Both were candidates for District council, though they didn’t make it in.

Fabry came especially close to grabbing a seat on council, losing by a tiny margin of two votes to Chris Pettingill.

"We are delighted to welcome five new directors to the Squamish Chamber board of directors, and to welcome back to Christine Campbell. Our new and existing directors bring experience, leadership and strong representation across various business sectors." said board chair, Robert Weys in a news release.

"The Chamber has seen incredible growth in recent years, with new programs, strong partnerships and many new members. We have a strong board and look forward to continued growth."

Eight candidates were nominated for six positions, with voting taking place online by Squamish Chamber members.

Previously elected individuals who will continue to serve on the board of directors in 2019 are:


— Maxime Charron, LeadingAhead Energy

— Hilary Ewart, 7mesh Consulting

— Allie Meeres, Woodfibre LNG

— Bianca Peters, BP Communications

— Robert V. Weys, MarXet Management


Directors on the chamber serve staggered terms, so not every seat is up for grabs each time an election happens.

The chamber also thanked its outgoing directors Eric Andersen, Kathy Bennett, John French, Kathleen van der Ree and Erin Yeo.

Andersen and French left the board to run for municipal council on October. They were successful in their bid and now serve as councillors.

A swearing-in ceremony will be conducted on December 12, officiated by Mayor Karen Elliott, at the Après after Five networking event, held at Match Eatery.

Please visit for more details.


push icon
Be the first to read breaking stories. Enable push notifications on your device. Disable anytime.
No thanks