Squamish Day of Mourning ceremony on Sunday | Squamish Chief

Squamish Day of Mourning ceremony on Sunday

They literally gave their lives for their jobs.

Each year, communities across Canada remember those who died at work with a day of mourning ceremony.

article continues below

Labour activists started the nationally observed memorial in 1983.

The annual Squamish event will take place on Sunday, April 28 at 11 a.m. at the Pavilion Park Workers’ Monument, downtown.

The monument includes the names of fallen residents, including, among others, firefighters, loggers, and RCMP members.

Find the monument south of the Arts Council Building at the park.

“We invite all residents to join us in remembering those whom we’ve lost to tragic workplace accidents and disease," said Mayor Karen Elliott in a news release.

Squamish Day of Mourning ceremony on Sunday_0
At the 2018 Squamish Day of Mourning.       Source: File photo/David Buzzard

Squamish fallen workers remembered on the local monument:

Dal Shemko

Constable Wael Audi

William (Bill) B. Landry

Garry Warren Horth

Robert “Troy” Church

Terrence James Walsh

Michael Kenneth Robinson

John D. Molson

Thomas K. (Tom) McStay

Harry C. Molson

Harbhajan Singh Nijjer

Eric Hansen

Cliff J. Dolan

Manuel D. Eusebio

Richard Donald (Don) Dickie

Rajinder Singh Rooprai

Ernst (Ernie) H. Rupp

William Edward Haffey

Douglas (Doug) Hugh Harley

Jack Dirks

Allan Gregory Crosson

Arthur George (Geordie) Dickie

Teddy Horth

Albert (Burt) Lawrence Wray

Harold Eric Lipsey

Charles (Buster) Wray

Vincent Cloudlesley Richards

Joseph Kostiuk

George Ciechanowski

Steve Monk

Raymond McCrae

John Bruntjen

Jerry Fitzgerald Burns

Glen Rustad

Raymond (Ray) Richard Peters

Samuel (Sam) Joseph Fitzpatrick

Bryan Douglas Valleau

Stephen Ian Torney

Fumi Yamaguchi

Felipe Espanueva Delos Santos

Lawrence (Laurie) William St. Laurent


Read Related Topics

@ Copyright Squamish Chief