Squamish Cyclocross pedals into town | Squamish Chief

Squamish Cyclocross pedals into town

Locals manage to take some Top 3 spots

Local riders managed to crack the Top 3 in at least some of the events during the Squamish Cyclocross race on Sunday.

The event was a way to bring the sport to Squamish, said Jeremy Seamans of the Vancouver Cyclocross Coalition, which organized the race.

article continues below

“Cyclocross started as a way for European road professionals in the early 1900s to stay fit in the offseason. It has since grown to become the most popular fall sport in a number of European countries, but has only just began to take hold in North America,” wrote Seamans in an email to The Chief.

“Cyclocross involves racing on what amounts to a modified road bike with knobby tires on courses containing grass, mud, sand and a variety of obstacles. Typically the races loop around a three-kilometre course and last for 30 minutes to an hour. Because the races are so short, it makes it possible to have a number of different categories with different start times for novice through expert, for men and women and those under 10 to over 60 years old. All the different categories make it much less intimidating for people to get into the sport.”

The former golf course on the Polygon lands made for a perfect site, he said, as previously there hadn’t been an appropriate venue for the sport in the Sea to Sky Corridor.

“The rain made for muddy conditions, making things that much more slippery and challenging,” wrote Seamans.

“The [Vancouver Cyclocross Coalition] has had incredibly positive feedback about this year’s event and hopes to return to the venue again next year.”

He added that the organization would like to thank its sponsors.


Intermediate Women

Marin Lowe — Team Squamish

Erin Copeland — Independent — Squamish

Madeleine Pollock — Devo


Novice Women:

Sidney Swierenga - U13

Christy Drever - Physiofocus - Squamish!

Lavinia Macociciuc - Icebreaker


Masters Women:

Anne-Marie Gagon - LIV Cycling

Jenniffer Sheel - Lotus Cycling Club

Jennifer Finkenbine - Steed Cycles


Elite Women:

Elle Bush - TaG Cycling - U19

Anne Ouellet - Fluvog's Crit Nasty

Elizabeth Gin - DEVO Cannondale Fortius - U19


Novice Men

Emile Vogel-Nakamura — TaG Cycling Race Team — Vancouver

Ryan Tasker — Independent

James Rankin — Independent

Master B Men

Chris Bishop — Steed Cycles — North Vancouver

Shawn Pettersen — Steed Cycles — Vancouver

Michael Dew — Independent

Intermediate Open

Christopher Bradbury — Musette/Enroute —  Vancouver

Eric Goodwin — Independent — Squamish

Matthew Hendriks — Todd’s Cycling Club — Vancouver

Elite Men

Craig Richey — Garneau Easton p/b Transitions Life Care — North Vancouver

Cody Scott — Giant Canada —  North Vancouver

Garrett Kryt — Mighty Cycling — Vancouver


***Please note this story has been updated to include more detailed women's results as they've become available.

Read Related Topics

@ Copyright Squamish Chief